Home > Teachings > Math on the web 1

Math on the web 1

The idea just came out of the blue. I like mathematics and I am using twitter. I am amazed that there are so many mathematicians using twitter. I am soo fortunate that there are so many mathematics articles around the web that are very useful, interesting and opening our minds. So, why not save and keep those interesting articles (according to me) .  These articles are mathematics articles that I read in the past few months.

1. @MrHonner: Evolutionary game theory in the classroom http://drvinceknight.blogspot.com/2014/03/a-very-brief-interactive-look-at.html by @drvinceknight #mathchat #math

@MrHonner is a twitter account owned by a mathematician Patrick Honner. I followed him and at some stage his tweet opened my mind to learn something new in mathematical teaching

2. @MrHonner: “It’s not how big your class is, it’s what you do with it” Interesting take on class size http://anglesofreflection.blogspot.com/2014/03/its-not-how-big-your-class-is-its-what.html #edchat

Again, this was a tweet from @MrHonner that brought me an article about the class size vs the quality of teaching. Since we are all teacher, I am sure that this article will be of interest.

3. @ISACalculus: Daylight Savings is mathematically illogical. Dilation not translation. Thanks @MrHonner for clearing this up.  http://mrhonner.com/archives/1805

This is a light article yet interesting about Daylight Saving. I am now living in Indonesia, a very nice tropical region which does not have Daylight Saving. I once lived in Australia where Daylight Saving occurs every November – March (the other way around from Europe). I find it Daylight Saving is very interesting and I like this article very much.

4. @standupmaths: You need some maths inequalities? This guy has ≥ you’ll ever need: http://www.lkozma.net/inequalities_cheat_sheet/

Very useful article for mathematics students who wants to compete in mathematics olympiad. But let me give a credit to @standupmaths first. This account belongs to Matt Parker who is (of course) a mathematician. And he is also a stand-up comedian. If I get the chance and the universe allows me, I would invite him to my university. Anyway, the title of the article explains a lot. It would give us a summary of inequalities you have ever (or never) heard. So, grab it before the link is dead.

5.  http://gizmo.do/2xZuhZm I am so sorry that I do not put who is the one tweeted this link cause I have forgotten. However, the link will bring you to an article about fractal. It is a very nice introduction to fractal and you’ll love it the way the author presented the article. Not only did he provide figures and illustrations but also he provided animations and simulations on how to make a fractal shape. 

6. http://blogs.wsj.com/atwork/2014/04/15/best-jobs-of-2014-congratulations-mathematicians/?mod=e2fb Again I have forgotten who was the one who tweeted/retweeted this link. This is my last article about mathematics on the web. I think it is quite pretty to end this post with this article cause this article is about how math can give you the best job (in terms of salary). The article said in the beginning: “Another day, another reason to get better at math,” which for me, is true.

As a conclusion, I’ll let you read the articles. I am pretty sure I am going to write math on the web 2 next month or after that.

Categories: Teachings
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

